1. Spin-off Fellowships

The FFG funding program „Spin-off Fellowship“ enables scientists to concentrate on the further development of their research results to a concrete commercialization-relevant state, (e.g. prototype development). Fellows must not perform other tasks, such as teaching or other research tasks. It is a new career path and leads away from a scientific career at a university or research institution! Funding will be granted up to 18 months with a maximum of EUR 500,000. Mentoring, coaching and further training measures will be provided additionally.

The Knowledge Transfer Centre South (WTZ Süd) offers support and coordination of applicants, for funded Fellow-projects as well as entitled organizations within the Spin-off Fellowship-Program in the provinces of Styria and Carinthia.

Application

  • Deadline for Call 1: 18th January 2018; Hearing: 23. – 25. 04. 2018
  • Deadline for Call 2: 19th July 2018; Hearing: 27. – 29. 11. 2018
  • Deadline for Call 3: 20th March 2019; Hearing CW 30 2019
  • Deadline for Call 4: planned for August 2019

 
The documents (guidelines, template project description, and letter of acknowledgement) as well as further information may be found here on the homepage of the FFG.

FAQ: Answers to FAQs regarding the Spin-off Fellowship

 

2. Contacts

Coordination WTZ Süd
TU Graz, Research & Technology House, Mandellstraße 9, 8010 Graz

Initial Contact Spin-off Fellowship
Stephanie Mühlbacher (mail: muehlbacher@tugraz.at, t 0316 873 6024)

Overall Coordination WTZ Süd
Moritz Theisen (mail: moritz.theisen@tugraz.at, t 0316 873 6925)

Information Centers of the entitled organizations
The knowledge and technology transfer managers of the entitled organizations will provide support and consulting regarding intellectual property rights and the commercialization as well as patent and license management for the applicants. Contact points are:

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Mag. Gernot Faustmann MSc, gernot.faustmann@uni-graz.at

Bioenergy 2020+ GmbH

Dr. Walter Haslinger, walter.haslinger@bioenergy2020.eu

Ludwig Boltzmann Institut Klinisch-Forensische Bildgebung (LBI CFI)

Dr. Alexander Bornik, alexander.bornik@cfi.lbg.ac.at

CBmed GmbH

Dr. Harald Sourij, harald.sourij@cbmed.at

Kunstuniversität Graz

Hanna Wisiak BA BA MA MA, hanna.wisiak@kug.ac.at

LEC GmbH / LEC EvoLET

Ao. Univ.-Prof. DI Dr. Andreas Wimmer, andreas.wimmer@lec.tugraz.at

Medizinische Universität Graz

Dr. Michaela Semlitsch, michaela.semlitsch@medunigraz.at

Pro2Future GmbH

Mag. Heimo Theuretzbacher-Fritz, heimo.theuretzbacher-fritz@pro2future.at

Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für Lungengefäßforschung

DI Michael Pienn, michael.pienn@lvr.lbg.ac.at

RCPE – Research Center Pharmaceutical Engineering GmbH

Mag. DI Dr. Thomas Klein, thomas.klein@rcpe.at

Montanuniversität Leoben

DI Dr. Martha Mühlburger, martha.muehlburger@unileoben.ac.at

Virtual Vehicle GmbH

Dr. Aldo Ofenheimer, aldo.ofenheimer@v2c2.at

Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt

Mag. Nadja Christin Vogl, nadjachristin.vogl@aau.at

Materials Center Leoben Forschung GmbH

Mag. Alexandra Purkarthofer MBA, alexandra.purkarthofer@mcl.at

FH CAMPUS 02

Mag. Kristina Edlinger-Ploder, kristina.edlinger-ploder@campus02.at

PCCL – Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH

Mag. Martin Payer MBA, martin.payer@pccl.at

FH Kärnten

FH-Prof. Dr. Erich Hartlieb, e.hartlieb@fh-kaernten.at

CTR Carinthian Tech Research AG

Dr. Werner Scherf, werner.scherf@ctr.at

acib GmbH

Mag. Franziska Winkler, franziska.winkler@acib.at

ÖAW, Institut für Weltraumforschung

DI Dr. Werner Magnes, werner.magnes@oeaw.ac.at

JOANNEUM RESEARCH GmbH

Dr. Roswitha Katter, roswitha.katter@joanneum.at

 

 

3. Support Services for applicants

The WTZ Süd offers the following services:

Competent consultation regarding the application and proposal-check
Competent consultation about the formal criteria and content-related requirements, which differ from other funding programs. Timely, confidential consultation is strongly recommended due to the program specifics. Please contact the coordination office (DI (FH) Stephanie Mühlbacher, mail: muehlbacher@tugraz.at, t 0316 873 6024)

Deadline for proposal-check: 11th March 2019

Presentation training for the hearing in front of the FFG
The WTZ Süd prepares the potential Fellows for the hearing at the FFG. The participants will learn to present their project (e.g. strengths of the team, innovative potential of the technology) in a clear and comprehensible way. The presentation training includes basic presentation techniques as well as a confidential presentation of the own project. Participation at the presentation training is free for the potential Fellows having applied (total duration: 1 day).

Date (Call 2): 15th of November 2018
Location: TU Graz, Seminarraum 2038, 2. OG, Rechbauerstraße 12, 8010 Graz

Registration under:
DI (FH) Stephanie Mühlbacher
t 0316 873 6024
mail: muehlbacher@tugraz.at

 

4. Support for approved Fellow-projects

The WTZ Süd supports Fellows (or Fellow teams) with compulsory basic support and individual support services.

Basic support
Fellowship Bootcamp (mandatory for all Fellows)
The Bootcamp prepares the Fellows for the further planning and implementation steps in their project regarding the commercialization aspects of their technology.

Additional support activities
Individual trainings
Please find a selection of recommended trainings for Fellows here (document in progress).
These trainings include:

  • Innovation management
  • User-oriented approaches to market analysis
  • Creating and development of business models
  • Creating business and financial plans

 

The listed trainings are carefully selected and are regularly up-dated. In addition, Fellows can also propose individual trainings or coachings within the scope of the thematic topics.

Written by: Graz University of Technology, SM
on: 11/10/2018