Want to get together with a bunch of creative and talented people and create an awesome game? Want to try out some new and whacky stuff and have a lot of fun? You have never developed a game before? Don’t worry! This is the perfect place for you to dive into your first game dev experience!

Come and join us at the first “Open Game Jam – Connecting arts, tech and humanities for social innovation” organized by WTZ Süd in co-operation with Game Development Graz.

Here you have one weekend from September 29 to October 1, 2017 to come up and realize an idea for a game. You can either try it by yourself or work in a team to complement your skills and bring your creative vision to life. 19577355_770614473116419_8316997533294707276_o

What makes this game jam special is the focus on interdisciplinary work – people from all fields of studies and schools (TU Graz, Uni Graz, Kunstuni Graz, Med Uni Graz, Universities of Applied Sciences, HTL …) are welcome to join and encouraged to work together and learn from each other. Whatever knowledge, skill or competence you can chip in is welcome!

Game jams are a wonderful place to learn how to create games from scratch. You are invited to create games together with people from all different disciplines (arts, humanities, architecture, audio, management, programming, testing …) and with various backgrounds and levels of expertise (industry experts, students, newbies).

Those who are new to game development or interested in learning more about it, are invited to join the special introductory workshop on Game Development with Unity which will be offered as preparation on the morning of September 29, 2017 at Campus Inffeldgasse of TU Graz, prior to the start of the Game Jam session on the same day.

Date: September 29, 2017, 10:00 am – October 1, 2017, 2:00 pm
Location: HS i9 / TU Graz, Inffeldgasse 13, 8010 Graz
Registration: until September 20, 2017 via Eventbrite

Please note: Tickets are free of charge but limited to a maximum of 40 and have to be ordered in advance!

You can find the official invitation here: GSK Open Game Jam – Flyer

We look forward to welcoming you at the first Open Game Jam!

Contact person for further enquiries:
DI Johanna Pirker, Institute of Interactive Systems and Data Science at TU Graz

Pictures: Matthias Rauch www.mrFoto.at

Written by: Graz University of Technology, IL
on: 19/07/2017

Zusammen mit kreativen und talentierten Menschen ein neues Spiel entwickeln und dabei neue, innovative Technologien und Gadgets ausprobieren – all das kann man beim ersten interdisziplinären Open Game Jam erleben. Auch für diejenigen ohne vorherige Erfahrung in der Spieleentwicklung bietet sich hier die ideale Gelegenheit einen Einblick in die Game Dev Welt zu bekommen!

Wir laden alle Interessierten herzlich zum ersten “Open Game Jam – Connecting arts, tech and humanities for social innovation” ein, der vom WTZ Süd in Kooperation mit dem Verein Game Development Graz organisiert wird.

TeilnehmerInnen am Open Game Jam haben ein Wochenende – vom 29. September bis 01. Oktober 2017 – Zeit, ihre Idee und Vision für ein Spiel zusammen in einem Team oder allein zu verwirklichen. Game Jam

Was diesen Game Jam auszeichnet, ist der Fokus auf die Interdisziplinarität – Studierende und SchülerInnen von verschiedenen Universitäten und Schulen (TU Graz, Uni Graz, Kunstuni Graz, Med Uni Graz, Fachhochschulen, HTL ….) arbeiten zusammen und lernen voneinander. Jede Art von Wissen und Kompetenz die TeilnehmerInnen mitbringen ist willkommen!

Game Jams bieten TeilnehmerInnen die Möglichkeit, den Prozess der Spieleentwicklung von Grund auf kennenzulernen. Hier entwickeln TeilnehmerInnen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen (Kunst, Geisteswissenschaften, Architektur, Audio, Management, Programmierung, Testung…) und mit unterschiedlicher Erfahrung (IndustrieexpertInnen, Studierende, Neulinge) gemeinsam Spiele.

All jene, die noch keine Erfahrung mit Game Development haben sowie alle Interessierten sind außerdem zu einem speziellen Einführungsworkshop zum Thema Game Development with Unity eingeladen. Dieser wird als Vorbereitung auf den Game Jam am Vormittag des 29. September 2017 am Campus Inffeldgasse der TU Graz stattfinden.

Datum: 29. September – 1. Oktober, 2017, genaue Uhrzeiten werden noch bekanntgegeben
Ort: HS i9 / TU Graz, Inffeldgasse 13, 8010 Graz
Anmeldung: bis 1. September 2017 via Eventbrite

Hinweis: Teilnahme ist kostenlos, Anmeldung erforderlich (40 Tickets verfügbar).

Hier die offizielle Einladung zum Event: GSK Open Game Jam – Flyer

Wir freuen uns, Sie beim ersten Open Game Jam begrüßen zu dürfen!

Kontakt:
DI Johanna Pirker, Institute of Interactive Systems and Data Science at TU Graz
jpirker@iicm.edu

 

Fotos: Matthias Rauch www.mrFoto.at

Erstellt von: Technische Universität Graz, IL
am: 19.07.2017