30 students, 4 university towns, 5 days of boot camp. From 23 to 27 September, 2015, the Ideengarten 2015 transformed the Tobacco Factory into Austria’s biggest playground for “Studipreneurs”. Students from all over Austria with different backgrounds ranging from “Geology” to “Experimental Design” participated in the event. The aim of the camp: building a start-up from scratch – ideation, brand development and the perfect pitch included. It was organized by the partner universities of Austria’s knowledge transfer centers.

 

Die TeilnehmerInnen mit dem Organisationsteam

The participants with the organization team

The hosts and organizers of the camp, the entrepreneurship centers at JKU, University of Graz, University of Innsbruck and Vienna University, have collaborated closely to make the boot camp happen: In three months of preparation, the concept was developed, the program designed and the right group of students selected. All students studying at one of the WTZ partner universities were able to apply for the camp. The students that were selected stood out in terms of motivation and had hardly any experience in the field of entrepreneurship.

During the five camp days, the participants lived through the core elements of a start-up’s initial phase via an intense express method: After speed dating and team building – which included the construction of a conference table – workshops about opportunity recognition, idea generation, business modeling, finance, marketing and pitch training were offered. To ensure progress, daily milestones had to be met by midnight on several days. Start-up founders (Kiweno, Ever Sport, Team Echo) and sports (Bring Sally Up) provided additional inspiration.

 

Speed-Dating

Speed dating

The final pitch on Sunday was both, conclusion and highlight of the workshop. Within four minutes, the teams had to present their newly developed business ideas to a jury of experts and to defend their concepts in critical Q & A sessions. Jury and audience rated the innovative impact of the idea, the business model, the feasibility and the pitch itself. The winning team of this “start-up challenge” was PreO: PreO provides a platform that allows consumers to pre-order food in the shop and buy it at a reduced price. The idea addresses the problem that too much food is wasted through miscalculation. Through pre-ordering, retailers are able to plan accordingly, to predict revenues and, therefore, can pass on discounts directly to their clients.

The other ideas that were created in the course of the workshop:

  • Fridgy – an app for mobile management of the contents of a fridge
  • MOSS – outdoor furniture which allow you to take your office anywhere
  • Scooler – an online platform of tutors
  • Eventfactory – the Airbnb for event venues

 

Das Gewinnerteam "PreO"

The winning team “PreO”

From the perspective of the organization team, the Garden of Ideas 2015 was a huge success. Since the idea for the camp was developed in February and the ultimate decision to realize it was made in May, the event was quite an experiment with several factors of uncertainty, such as the motivation of the participants, the quality of the ideas, the input from the lecturers, etc. All the more impressive was the commitment and enthusiasm that the teams showed during the five days – including working hours until 4.00 am.

The feedback from both, the students as well as lecturers, and especially the spirit during the workshop have proven to us that the organizational work was worth the effort. As concerns us, the hosts, we are now in the follow-up phase, simultaneously trying to improve the concept to make the Garden of Ideas even better and bigger next year. First, however, we might treat ourselves to a few days of rest to catch up on the lost sleep – about 5 hours per night.

 

Text: Lisa-Marie Fassl, WTZ Ost

Pictures: Austrian Knowledge Transfer Centres

Written by: University of Graz, MH
on: 07/10/2015

30 Studierende, 4 Universitätsstädte, 5 Tage Bootcamp. Der Ideen Garten 2015 verwandelte die Tabakfabrik Linz von 23. – 27. September 2015 in Österreichs größte Spielwiese für Studipreneure. Mit dabei waren Studis aus dem ganzen Land, mit Backgrounds von „Geologie“ bis „Experimentelle Gestaltung“. Ziel des Camps: Building a startup from scratch. Ideation, Brand Development und der perfekte Pitch inklusive. Organisiert von den Partneruniversitäten der Wissenstransferzentren Österreich.

 

Die TeilnehmerInnen mit dem Organisationsteam

Die TeilnehmerInnen mit dem Organisationsteam

Die Veranstalter und Organisatoren des Camps, die Entrepreneurship-Lehrstühle der JKU Linz, Uni Graz, LFU Innsbruck und WU Wien, haben eng zusammengearbeitet, um das Bootcamp auf die Beine zu stellen: In dreimonatiger Vorbereitungszeit wurde das Konzept erarbeitet, das Programm gestaltet und die passende Gruppe an Studierenden ausgewählt. Die Bewerbung zum Camp stand allen Studierenden der an den Wissenstransferzentren Österreich involvierten Partneruniversitäten offen. Eingeladen wurden jene Studierenden, die aufgrund ihrer Motivation herausstechen konnten und bisher kaum bis gar keine Erfahrung im Bereich Entrepreneurship hatten.

An den fünf Camptagen haben die TeilnehmerInnen in einem intensiven Expressverfahren die Kernelemente der Anfangsphase eines Startups durchlebt: Nach einer Speeddating- und Teambuilding-Einheit – inklusive der Konstruktion eines Seminartisches – standen Workshops zu den Bereichen Opportunity Recognition, Idea Generation, Business Modeling, Finance, Marketing und Pitch Training auf dem Programm. Um den Fortschritt an den einzelnen Tagen sicherzustellen, galt es die Tagesmeilensteine bis jeweils Mitternacht zu erfüllen. Zur Auflockerung des Intensivprogramms und zur passenden Inspiration wurden Startup-Gründer (Kiweno, Eversport, TeamEcho) eingeladen und tägliche Sporteinheiten absolviert (Bring Sally Up).

 

Speed-Dating

Speed-Dating

Abschluss und Highlight des Camps waren die finalen Pitches am Sonntag. Innerhalb von vier Minuten mussten die Teams ihre neu entwickelten Geschäftsideen vor einer ExpertInnenjury präsentieren und in kritischen Q&A-Sessions ihre Konzepte und Annahmen verteidigen. Sowohl von Jury als auch vom Publikum wurden die Innovationskraft der Idee, das Business Model, die Realisierbarkeit und der Pitch bewertet. Als siegreiches Team dieser „Startup Challenge“ ist PreO hervorgegangen: PreO bietet eine Plattform, welche es KonsumentInnen erlaubt, Lebensmittel im Geschäft vorzubestellen und dadurch vergünstigt einzukaufen. Die Idee adressiert das Problem, dass zu viele Lebensmittel durch Fehlkalkulationen verschwendet werden. Durch die Vorbestellung können die EinzelhändlerInnen besser planen, haben vorhersehbare Umsätze und können so Rabatte direkt an ihre KundInnen weitergeben.

Die weiteren Ideen, die im Laufe des Camps entstanden sind, sind:

  • Fridgy – eine App zur mobilen Verwaltung des Kühlschrankinhaltes
  • MOOS – Outdoormöbel mit welchen man das mobile Büro immer mit dabei hat
  • Scooler – eine Online-Plattform zur Vermittlung von kompetenten NachhilfelehrerInnen
  • Eventfactory – das Airbnb für Eventlocations

 

Das Gewinnerteam "PreO"

Das Gewinnerteam „PreO“

Aus Sicht des Organisationsteams war der Ideen Garten 2015 ein Riesenerfolg. Da die Idee zum Camp erst im Februar entstanden ist und die schlussendliche Entscheidung zur Umsetzung Ende Mai gefallen ist, war die Veranstaltung auch für uns ein großes Experiment mit einigen Unsicherheitsfaktoren, wie bspw. die Motivation der TeilnehmerInnen, die Qualität der Ideen, der Input der Vortragenden etc. Umso beeindruckender waren für uns der Einsatz und die Begeisterung, die die Teams in den fünf Camptagen gezeigt haben – nächtliche Arbeitsstunden bis 4.00 Uhr Früh inklusive.

Das bisherige Feedback sowohl von den Studierenden als auch von den Vortragenden und vor allem der Spirit während des Camps haben uns bewiesen, dass der organisatorische Aufwand die Anstrengung wert war. Für uns als Hosts geht es jetzt in die Nachbereitungsphase und gleichzeitige Weiterentwicklung des Konzepts, um den Ideen Garten im nächsten Jahr noch besser und größer zu machen. Vorab gönnen wir uns aber vielleicht noch ein paar Tage der Erholung, um den verpassten Schlaf – ca. 5 Stunden pro Nacht – nachzuholen.

 

Text: Lisa-Marie Fassl, WTZ Ost

Fotos: Wissenstransferzentren (Österreich)

Erstellt von: Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, MH
am: 07.10.2015