Knowledge Transfer Centre South (WTZ Süd)

The Knowledge Transfer Centre South (WTZ Süd) regards itself as an intermediary of expertise and knowledge between university-based research, science, business and society. New, innovative, creative and multidisciplinary approaches are relied upon to bundle, optimize and expand the skills and expertise of the cooperation partners from various specialist fields and to make these assets more readily available to industry and society.

The main aspects of the cooperative projects within the WTZ Süd are the exploitation and expansion of commercial opportunities, particularly with regard to university-based inventions, and on the dissemination of knowledge in the form of teaching and training events. One further intention is to facilitate the transfer of knowledge between research institutes, industry and society in the areas of technology, economy, medicine and art as well as in the humanities, social and cultural sciences.


Cooperation partners

WTZ Süd – sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy (BMWFW) and Austria Wirtschaftsservice Gesellschaft mbH (aws) – consists of six universities from Styria and Carinthia, which are pooling their expertise and know-how in the field of knowledge transfer. Thus, synergies are created, visibility is enhanced and the access to university knowledge is facilitated. Graz University of Technology is the coordinator of the WTZ Süd.

Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt
Graz University of Technology (coordination)
Medical University of Graz
Montanuniversität Leoben
University of Graz
University of Music and Performing Arts Graz

External Partners



Life Science Inkubator (LSI)




Science Park Graz


TA Logo


Technologie Allianz


© 2019 WTZ Süd